Home

Authors interested in being feature, fill out this spreadsheet.

Book Reviews Here!
Promoted Books Here!
Book Tags, TBR Tuesday, WWW Wednesday & Friday Favorites Here!

~August Events~

  • #READShadowhunter Readalong
    • More details here!
    • Follow #READShadowhunter on Twitter
    • Let us know if you want added to the Twitter group chat!
    • Join the Discord chat here: discord.gg/dm8VDS7
    • City of Bones schedule:
      • July 27-Aug. 2: Chapter 1-8
      • Aug 3-9: Ch. 9-13
      • 10-16: Ch. 14-19
      • 17-23: Ch. 20-Epilogue

~Featured Books Of The Week!~

Grey Dawn by Nyri A. Bakkalian

Pre-order here!
Releases 8/7/20

I had a moment’s indecision—a stab of worry.
“Trust me,” she said.
And so, I did.

The year is 1862. Driven by a leading from the Spirit, Chloë Parker Stanton leaves the woman she loves to enlist in the Union Army and fight for abolition in war as she has in the streets of Philadelphia. At home, her lover, Leigh Hunter, eagerly awaits Chloë’s letters, anxious to hear of her survival without discovery, for women are not allowed to wear the Union blue.

Three days after Gettysburg comes the news: the Seventeenth Pennsylvania Cavalry has survived, but Chloë Stanton is missing, presumed dead.

The year is 2020. Sergeant First Class Leigh Hunter came of age during her seventeen-year stint in uniform. Since childhood, she’d been drawn to the Army in search of something, all the while fighting her inner truth as a trans woman. After her final combat tour, Leigh left the military a decorated combat veteran and finally transitioned. She was quickly recruited by the Joint Temporal Integrity Commission: a new, secretive government agency tasked with intercepting temporal refugees and integrating them into present-day society.

Two years after joining the JTIC, Leigh is entrusted with a special assignment: personal custody of a Pennsylvania cavalry soldier from three days after Gettysburg.

Her name: Chloë Parker Stanton.

Grey Dawn is a tale of war, abolition, union, and women who forge ties that carry them from one life into the next. When the grey dawn breaks on a new era and a new cause, who can you trust to fight beside you?


From the Dust by AR Colbert

Get your copy here!

IN A WORLD WHERE EVERYTHING IS DONE “FOR THE GREATER GOOD,” EXPOSING THE TRUTH IS A DEATH WISH.

Life isn’t easy for Claren Greenwood. Her mother was killed by rebels, her father was exiled, and her brother is walking dangerously close to a similar fate. But Claren has a rare skill, and once the government identifies her as an Empath her world is flipped on its head.

Now Claren finds herself straddling two worlds–one begging her to work for “The Greater Good,” and the other threatening to tear it all apart.

With the help of a tall, handsome Outsider and a house full of other Empaths training for government work, Claren must discover the truth in order to save her brother and countless other lives.

And she must do it without losing the trust of either side.

From the Dust is full of action, suspense, love, and espionage. Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games should prepare to get hooked!

Strap in for the first book in the highly addictive dystopian world of the Ember Society Series.


Recent Posts




*Functionally Fictional is an affiliate of Book Depository. I receive a portion of the commission from any product purchased through these links.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑